Open or Close Alert Message

Mount Mercy University is committed to keeping in communication with the campus community as the rapidly evolving coronavirus COVID-19 situation unfolds.

For more information and updates, visit our Coronavirus webpage.

May 15, 2020

Graduates recognized for outstanding achievement at Honors Convocation

The following student(s) were recognized for outstanding achievement at Mount Mercy University’s Honors Convocation on May 15:

Sisters of Mercy Award: Hilaire Zigashane Tshombe

Sister Immaculata Business Award: Andrea Ertz

Sister Mary Agnes Hennessey Award: Taylor Marie Petersen

Sister Mary Edward McConohy Nursing Award: James P. Burke

Sister Mary Ildephonse Award: Haley Anne Weideman

Sister Mary Norbert Karnik Art Award: Matthew Trueblood

Sister Mary Roberta Lyness Award: Ethan B. Wherry

Sister Mary Xavier Creative Writing Award: Jessica Rose Purgett

Sister Roseline Kos Education Award: Michelle Merschbrock

Outstanding Accounting Student Award: Matthew Pelzer

Outstanding Computer Science Student Award: Irena Henry

Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award: Madelyn M. Irwin

Outstanding Economics Student Award: Connor Christophersen

Outstanding Finance Student Award: Maximilian Thomas Rieger

Outstanding Human Resource Management Student Award: Tyler James Follett

Outstanding Journalism Student Award: Madelyn Lee Orton

Outstanding Marketing Student Award: Vanessa Alexis Cortes

Outstanding Mathematics Student Award: Joshua J. Jurgensmeier

Outstanding Natural Science Student Award: Samantha Marie Kitterman

Outstanding Political Science Student Award: Margaret Kathryn Peterson           

Dale Harrison Outstanding Management Student Award: Jessica Ertz

Anne K. Stenzel Outstanding Social Work Student Award: Karina Hutchison

Christine L. Woodruff Outstanding Psychology Student Award: Margaret Kathryn Peterson

Sister Siena Religious Studies Award: Kasey Christopher Kaimann

Accelerated Student of the Year Award: Manda M. Marshall

Co-Curricular Service Award: Franchelie Sonia Mounzeo Mampassi

President’s Award: Maximilian Thomas Rieger

Nearly 30 awards were given during the ceremony, recognizing students for excelling in academics and extra-curricular activities while demonstrating leadership and personal growth during their time at Mount Mercy.