Open or Close Alert Message

Mount Mercy University is committed to keeping in communication with the campus community as the rapidly evolving coronavirus COVID-19 situation unfolds.

For more information and updates, visit our Coronavirus webpage.

Board of Trustees

The corporate and legal powers for the operation of Mount Mercy University are the responsibility of a volunteer, self-perpetuating Board of Trustees, with a maximum membership of 37 members, three of whom are to be Sisters of Mercy. 


Charles A. Rohde
Board Chair
President, King's Material, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
barb_new.jpg Barbara A. Barhamand, RN, AOCN '77
Board Vice Chair
Advocate Medical Group, Hematology/Oncology
Naperville, Illinois
weigel-sr-margaret.jpg Sr. Margaret M. Weigel RSM ’66
Board Secretary
Technology Support, Sisters of Mercy West Midwest 
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
worley-brand.jpg Brandt A. Worley
Immediate Past Chair
President, Worley Companies, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
altorfer.jpg Molly G. Altorfer
Partner, The Common Sense Collective
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
barbee-thomas.jpg Thomas C. Barbee
President, Restaurant Profit Systems, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
brown_ken_web.jpg Kenneth S. Brown
CEO, Modern Companies, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 
busse-michele.jpg Michele M. Busse
Corporate Development, Collins Aerospace
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Jeffrey J. Cannon '82
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

carroll_patrice.jpg Patrice M. Carroll 
President & CEO, ImOn Communications, LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
christoffersen-terri.jpg Terri A. Christoffersen
Community Volunteer
Toddville, Iowa
coppock-loren.jpg Loren L. Coppock, CPCU, CLU
Chairman of the Board, TrueNorth Companies, L.C.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
culver.jpg Tami V. Culver '97
Vice President, Culver’s Lawn & Landscape, Inc./
Garden Center and Greenhouse
Marion, Iowa
melanie.jpg Dr. Melanie L. Giesler-Spellman '01
Physician, Physicians’ Clinic of Iowa P.C.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
golobic-magda.jpg Magda M. Golobic
Director of Corporate Giving and Relations, 
GreatAmerica Financial Services
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
pres-hamen13-14.jpg Laurie M. Hamen
President, Mount Mercy University
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
hannon-delores.jpg Sr. Delores M. Hannon RSM '73
President, Mercy High School
Omaha, Nebraska
harold-ronald.jpg Ronald J. Herold
Business Owner
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
kasparek-nancy.jpg Nancy L. Kasparek
kazimour-robert.jpg Robert F. Kazimour
Retired President, RFK Transportation, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
kettelkamp-richard.jpg Dr. Richard T. Kettelkamp '93
Cardiologists, L.C.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
knapp-barbara.jpg Barbara A. Knapp
Retired Chair and Chief Executive Officer, SCI Financial Group
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
bot-jane-meyer.jpg Dr. Jane C. Meyer '82
nikrant-james.jpg James M. Nikrant
Retired President, Lil' Drug Store Products, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
oconnor.jpg Sr. Susan M. O’Connor RSM '72
Vice President for Mission Integration, Mercy Medical Center
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
pitz.jpg Lisa J. Pitz
Director, Collins Finance Shared Services, Collins Aerospace
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
reid.jpg Dr. Vincent J. Reid
Surgical Oncologist 
Medical Director, Hall-Perrine Cancer Center 
Mercy Medical Center
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
rinderknecht-john.jpg John M. Rinderknecht
President, RAM Development Company
Denver, Colorado
smith-dyan.jpg Dyan C. Smith
Community Volunteer
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
wehr_mike_web.jpg Michael J. Wehr '03
Chief Sales Officer, Raining Rose, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 
ruth-white.gif Dr. Ruth E. White
Executive Director & Board President,
The Academy for Scholastic and Personal Success
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 


Emeriti Trustees

  • William A. Bloomhall II 
  • F. James Bradley 
  • Lavern T. Busse 
  • Sr. James Marie Donahue, RSM '59 
  • Josefina L. Durin
  • Carleen M. Grandon '72
  • Camela C. Greif '88 
  • Donald P. Hattery 
  • Dr. James L. Justice '80
  • Bruce M. King 
  • C. John Linge 
  • JoAnn F. Meyer 
  • Judy S. O'Donnell 
  • Sr. Mary Lou Podzimek, RSM '66
  • H. Thomas Reed 
  • Theresa J. Robinson '67
  • Emmett J. Scherrman 
  • Margee M. Stamper '77
  • Thomas J. Tauke 
  • Sr. Kathy R. Thornton, RSM '66
  • Rev. Msgr. Thomas E. Toale, Ph.D.