Mount Mercy class of 2016 STEPS members inducted to leadership program

Mount Mercy welcomed 20 freshmen into the STEPS (Striving Towards Engaged and Purposeful Servant-Leadership) program during a special induction ceremony on Thursday, January 3, in Mount Mercy’s Stello Performance Hall.

The ceremony officially welcomed and inducted the STEPS class of 2016 through a symbolic pinning, officiated by members of the sophomore STEPS class. Senior STEPS member Kim Moorman of Coggon, Iowa, led newly inducted students in the call to service – a pledge announcing students’ oath to aid others and work to grow as leaders through workshops, events and personal reflection. Dr. DeAnn M. Fitzgerald, O.D., founder of Spanda, Inc., and owner of Dr. D.M. Fitzgerald and Associates, served as the keynote speaker, with invocation led by Executive Director for Mission & Ministry Sister Shari Sutherland ’71.

Mount Mercy’s STEPS program is a four-year leadership program built on the foundation of servant leadership. Students accepted into STEPS have shown a high degree of interest in learning how to utilize their strengths and abilities in order to contribute effectively and efficiently in the communities in which they live and work. The program focuses on empowering students to develop skills that will aid them in their college experience and in life after graduation. View the photo album of the induction ceremony.

Congratulations to the Mount Mercy University STEPS class of 2016:

  • Taji Ahouse of Waukon, Iowa
  • Katelyn Bishop of Davenport, Iowa
  • Rebecca Crooks of Ionia, Iowa
  • Hannah Eichenberger of New Hampton, Iowa
  • Suzanne Flexsenhar of Winthrop, Iowa
  • Tessa Friason of Vancouver, Wash.
  • Kelsey Gerhart of Bancroft, Iowa
  • Jerica Gretter of Harper, Iowa
  • Megan Hall of Springville, Iowa
  • Kate Hermsen of Jesup, Iowa
  • Hannah Hoskins of Elkhart, Iowa
  • Emilie Jacobson of Amana, Iowa
  • Mikayla Morrison of South English, Iowa
  • Emily Mysak of Springville, Iowa
  • Alyson Oberdries of Deep River, Iowa
  • Taylor Sabelka of Denver, Iowa
  • Jasmin Sanchez of Kalona, Iowa
  • Lindsey Simmons of Central City, Iowa
  • Nicole Tyc of Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Taylor Zumbach of Coggon, Iowa

Share on...

Mount Mercy on...