The following list reflects Newberry Medal winners from the award's inception (1922) to the present. Busse Library holdings are shelved in the curriculum center on the lower level. Each entry includes the title's call number.

Winners: 2011-present

  • 2016: Last Stop on Market Street.  By Matt de la Pena.  (G.P. Putnam's Sons).  jE DeLaM5
  • 2015: The Crossover. By Kwame Alexander. j AleK3
  • 2014: Flora & Ulysses. By Kate DiCamillo. j DiCaK36
  • 2013: The One and Only Ivan.  By Katherine Applegate.  (HarperCollins Children's Books)  j ApplK6
  • 2012: Dead End in Norvelt. By Jack Gantos. (Farrar Straus Giroux)  j GantJ2
  • 2011: Moon Over Manifest. By Clare Vanderpool. (Delacourte Press) j VandC5

Winners: 2010-2000

  • 2010: When You Reach Me. By Rebecca Stead. (Wendy Lamb Books) j SteaR8
  • 2009: The Graveyard Book. By Neil Gaiman. (HarperCollins) j Gaimn4
  • 2008: Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village. By Laura Amy Schlitz. (Candlewick) j 812.6 Sch4
  • 2007: The Higher Power of Lucky. By Susan Patron. (Simon & Schuster) j PatrS4
  • 2006: Criss Cross. By Lynne Rae Perkins. (Greenwillow Books) j PerkL3
  • 2005: Kira-Kira. BY Cynthia Kadohata (Atheneum Books for Young Readers) j KadoC4
  • 2004: The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread. By Kate DiCamillo. (Candlewick Press) j DiCaK8
  • 2003: Crispin: The Cross of Lead. By Avi. (Hyperion Books for Children) j Avi33
  • 2002: A Single Shard. By Linda Sue Park. (Clarion Books) j ParkL7
  • 2001: A Year Down Yonder. By Richard Peck. (Dial) j PeckR9
  • 2000: Bud, Not Buddy. By Christopher Paul Curtis. (Delacourte) j CurtC3

Winners: 1999-1990

  • 1999: Holes. By Louis Sachar. (Frances Foster) j SachaL5
  • 1998: Out of the Dust. By Karen Hesse. (Scholastic) j HessK6
  • 1997: The View From Saturday. By E.L. Konigsburg. (Jean Karl/Atheneum) j KoniE8
  • 1996: The Midwife's Apprentice. By Karen Cushman. (Clarion) j CushK6
  • 1995: Walk Two Moons. By Sharon Creech. (HarperCollins) j CreeS8
  • 1994: The Giver. By Lois Lowry. (Houghton) j LowrL4
  • 1993: Missing May. By Cynthia Rylant. (Jackson/Orchard) j RylaC6
  • 1992: Shiloh. By Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. (Atheneum) j NaylP7
  • 1991: Maniac Magee. By Jerry Spinelli. (Little, Brown) j SpinJ62
  • 1990: Number the Stars. By Lois Lowry. (Houghton) j LowrL6

Winners: 1989-1980

  • 1989: Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices. By Paul Fleischman. (Harper) j 811 FL5
  • 1988: Lincoln: A Photobiography. By Russell Freedman. (Clarion) j 920 Li4
  • 1987: The Whipping Boy. By Sid Fleischman. (Greenwillow) j FleiS8
  • 1986: Sarah, Plain and Tall. By Patricia MacLachlan. (Harper) j MaclP7
  • 1985: The Hero and the Crown. By Robin McKinley. (Greenwillow) j MckiR5
  • 1984: Dear Mr. Henshaw. By Beverly Cleary. (Morrow) j CleaB4
  • 1983: Dicey's Song. By Cynthia Voigt. (Atheneum) j VoigC4
  • 1982: A Visit to William Blake's Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers. By Nancy Willard. (Harcourt) j811 Wi8
  • 1981: Jacob Have I Loved. By Katherine Paterson. (Crowell) j PateK5
  • 1980: A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-1832. By Joan W. Blos. (Scribner) j BlosJ4

Winners: 1979-1970

  • 1979: The Westing Game. By Ellen Raskin. (Dutton) j RaskE8
  • 1978: Bridge to Terabithia. By Katherine Paterson. (Crowell) j PateK3
  • 1977: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. By Mildred D. Taylor. (Dial) j TaylM64
  • 1976: The Grey King. By Susan Cooper. (McElderry/Atheneum) j CoopS54
  • 1975: M.C. Higgins, the Great. By Virginia Hamilton. (Macmillan) j HamiV62
  • 1974: The Slave Dancer. By Paula Fox. (Bradbury) j FoxP8
  • 1973: Julie of the Wolves. By Jean Craighead George. (Harper) j GeorJ64
  • 1972: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. By Robert C. O'Brien. (Atheneum) j ObriR6
  • 1971: Summer of the Swans. By Betsy Byars. (Viking) j ByarB8
  • 1970: Sounder. By William H. Armstrong. (Harper) j ArmsW66

Winners: 1969-1960

  • 1969: The High King. By Lloyd Alexander. (Holt) j AlexL5
  • 1968: From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. By E.L. Konigsburg (Atheneum) j KoniE4
  • 1967: Up a Road Slowly. By Irene Hunt. (Follett) j Huntl7
  • 1966: I, Juan de Pareja. By Elizabeth Borton de Trevino. (Farrar) j TrevE5
  • 1965: Shadow of a Bull. By Maia Wojciechowska. (Atheneum) j WojcM7
  • 1964: It's Like This, Cat. By Emily Neville. (Harper) j NeviE5
  • 1963: A Wrinkle in Time. By Madeleine L'Engle. (Farrar) j LengM8
  • 1962: The Bronze Bow. By Elizabeth George Speare. (Houghton) j SpeaE3
  • 1961: Island of the Blue Dolphins. By Scott O'Dell. (Houghton) j OdelS5
  • 1960: Onion John. By Joseph Krumgold. (Crowell) j KrumJ6

Winners: 1959-1950

  • 1959: The Witch of Blackbird Pond. By Elizabeth George Speare. (Houghton) j SpeaE8
  • 1958: Rifles for Watie. By Harold Keith. (Crowell) j KeitH6
  • 1957: Miracles on Maple Hill. By Virginia Sorensen. (Harcourt) j SoreV6
  • 1956: Carry On, Mr. Bowditch. By Jean Lee Latham. (Houghton) j920 Bow3
  • 1955: The Wheel on the School. By Meindert DeJong. (Harper) j DeJoM8
  • 1954: ...And Now Miguel. By Joseph Krumgold. (Crowell) j KrumJ3
  • 1953: Secret of the Andes. By Ann Nolan Clark. (Viking) j ClarA7
  • 1952: Ginger Pye. By Eleanor Estes. (Harcourt) j EsteE46
  • 1951: Amos Fortune, Free Man. By Elizabeth Yates. (Dutton) j 920 For
  • 1950: The Door in the Wall. By Marguerite de Angeli. (Doubleday) j DeAngM4

Winners: 1949-1940

  • 1949: King of the Wind. By Marguerite Henry. (Rand McNally) j HenrM6
  • 1948: The Twenty-One Balloons. By William Pene du Bois. (Viking) j DuBoW8
  • 1947: Miss Hickory. By Carolyn Sherwin Bailey. (Viking) j BailC6
  • 1946: Strawberry Girl. By Lois Lenski. (Lippincott) j LensL7
  • 1945: Rabbit Hill. By Robert Lawson. (Viking) j LawsR7
  • 1944: Johnny Tremain. By Esther Forbes. (Houghton) j ForbE6
  • 1943: Adam of the Road. By Elizabeth Janet Gray. (Viking) j GrayE3
  • 1942: The Matchlock Gun. By Walter Edmonds. (Dodd) j EdmoW6
  • 1941: Call it Courage. By Armstrong Sperry. (Macmillan) j SperrA3
  • 1940: Daniel Boone. By James Daugherty. (Viking) j 920 Bo

Winners: 1939-1930

  • 1939: Thimble Summer. By Elizabeth Enright. (Rinehart) j EnriE7
  • 1938: The White Stag. By Kate Seredy. (Viking) j398.22 S
  • 1937: Roller Skates. By Ruth Sawyer. (Viking) j SawyR8
  • 1936: Caddie Woodlawn. By Carol Ryrie Brink. (Macmillan) j BrinC3
  • 1935: Dobry. By Monica Shannon. (Viking) j ShanM3
  • 1934: Invincible Louisa: The Story of the Author of Little Women. By Cornelia Meigs. (Little, Brown) j920 ALCOTT
  • 1933: Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze. By Elizabeth Lewis. (Winston) j LewisE9
  • 1932: Waterless Mountain. By Laura Adams Armer. (Longmans) j ArmeL8
  • 1931: The Cat Who Went to Heaven. By Elizabeth Coatsworth. (Macmillan) j CoatE3
  • 1930: Hitty, Her First Hundred Years. By Rachel Field. (Macmillan) j FielR5

Winners: 1929-1922

  • 1929: The Trumpeter of Krakow. By Eric P. Kelly. (Macmillan) j KellyE8
  • 1928: Gay Neck, the Story of a Pidgeon. By Dhan Gopal Mukerji. (Dutton) j MukeD5
  • 1927: Smoky, the Cowhorse. By Will James. (Scribner) j JameW7
  • 1926: Shen of the Sea. By Arthur Bowie Chrisman. (Dutton) j ChriA7
  • 1925: Tales from the Silver Lands. By Charles Finger. (Doubleday) j 398.2 F
  • 1924: The Dark Frigate. By Charles Hawes. (Little, Brown) j HaweC4
  • 1923: The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle. By Hugh Lofting. (Stokes) j LoftH8
  • 1922: The Story of Mankind. By Hendrik Willem van Loon. (Liveright) j 909 Van7