Presidential Inauguration

Mount Mercy University honored Dr. Todd A. Olson as its 11th President on April 29, 2022.

Enduring Tradition. Engaging Excellence.

Dr. Todd A. Olson was inaugurated as the 11th President of Mount Mercy University on April 29, 2022.

"We must strive to do ordinary things extraordinarily well."
– Catherine McAuley
Mount Mercy University Foundress

Beginning his presidency at Mount Mercy in 2021, President Olson brings a wealth of experience with a 35-year career in higher education.

The theme of the inauguration was Enduring Tradition. Engaging Excellence. This was inspired by the forward vision of our foundresses, the endurance of their bold vision, and the Spirit of Mercy that continues to guide us.

Our location atop the Hill ensures we always look ahead—toward new possibilities. Our connection to the past means we don’t forget who led us here. Our commitment to our community keeps our eyes on the future. We cannot wait to see what comes next.

About President Olson

I see tremendous strength and tremendous promise at Mount Mercy, and I look forward to working with everyone at the university to live out its mission in the years ahead.

Todd A. Olson, PhD

Installation Ceremony

Watch the Installation of Dr. Todd A. Olson, President of Mount Mercy University.

President Olson with Cedar Rapids mayor Tiffany O'Donnell

Schedule of Events

Thursday, April 28

3:30 PM | Faculty Panel
Flaherty Community Room, Basile Hall
View the Faculty Panel Program

4:30 PM | Reception
Atrium, Basile Hall 
Moved indoors due to weather

Friday, April 29

10:00 AM | Mass & Blessing of President Olson
Chapel of Mercy, Busse Center
View the Mass & Blessing Program

1:00 PM | Platform Party, Delegates, Faculty & Staff Robing & Lineup
Hennessey Recreation Center

2:00 PM | Installation Ceremony
Hennessey Recreation Center
View the Installation Ceremony Program

3:30-5:00 PM | Reception
Sisters of Mercy University Center
Moved indoors due to weather

Travel Information

Thank you for welcoming President Olson, and for your help in celebrating this historic event.

These hotels have special rates for inauguration attendees upon request. Please make reservations directly with the establishments. All are located within a couple of miles of campus.

Holiday Inn Express Cedar Rapids (Collins Rd)
1230 Collins Rd. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA
(319) 294-9407

Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids – North
1130 Park Pl. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA
(319) 832-1130

Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids – North
1140 Park Pl. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA
(319) 378-1140

Cedar Rapids Marriott
1200 Collins Rd. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA
(319) 393-6600

The nearest airport is The Eastern Iowa Airport in Cedar Rapids, about 10 miles from campus.

We're proud to be embedded in the Cedar Rapids community. Take some time to explore the City of Five Seasons during your stay:

All inauguration events are being held on the Mount Mercy University campus.

We have made guest parking passes available for this event. Please place the pass on your vehicle's dashboard, and park in one of the designated lots highlighted on the map (reverse side of pass).

Shuttles will be available to transport guests from their parking location to the inauguration events.

Inauguration Committee

We'd like to extend our appreciation to the Inauguration Committee for making all of this possible.

Todd Coleman | Vice President for Enrollment & Marketing, Co-Chair
Kristy Raine | Director of Library Services, Co-Chair

Sr. Linda Bechen '74 | Vice President for Mission & Ministry
Tony Begley | Operations Manager, Facilities
Elizabeth Bibby '20 | Events Manager
Kim Blankenheim | Assistant to the President
Melissa Breuer '16 | Office Assistant, President's Office
Tami Culver '97 | Member, Mount Mercy Board of Trustees
Dr. Dennis Dew | Professor of Psychology
Michaela Dion | Senior Director for Development & Alumni Relations
Jamie Jones | Director of Marketing & Communications
Dr. Gerald Kreitzer | Director of Music Activities
Tiara Munoz '23 | President, Student Government Association
Connie Snitker '17 | Information Technology Coordinator
Dr. Belkis Suarez | Associate Professor of Spanish
Dr. Mary Tarbox '74 | Faculty Emeritus
Nick Timm '14 | President, Mount Mercy Alumni Board